Tuesday, December 29, 2015

AoS-Less Tuesday Discussion: Marvel/DC Crossover



There aren't that many Marvel/DC Crossover pics
out there
Image Courtesy www.in2eastafrica.net
Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. entered its winter hiatus following the winter finale, “Maveth” (3x10).  There are going to be five total weeks without any new Marvel TV—Agent Carter will begin on January 19—so I am going to post a new discussion thread every week with a different concept for us to explore and debate.


First, here are the previous discussions:
If you could be Inhuman, what power would you want?  Mostly MCU Reviews Reddit
Pitch a new hero for the MCU Mostly MCU Reviews Reddit


Background for this week’s discussion prompt:  You are watching The Flash on the CW and it ends with a portal opening and sucking a DCTVU character into it just before the final credits roll.  You then switch channels to ABC to watch Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and the episode begins with a portal opening.

“That’s odd,” you think.  You stare for a moment before it hits you:  this is exactly the same special effect you just saw on The Flash.  An MCU TV character then gets sucked into the portal, and you realize that the DCTVU and MCU are crossing over on the small-screen.

Here’s the prompt:  Pitch a confrontation on neutral ground between 1 or more characters from these two universes which will occur on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.  The characters can be heroes, villains, or a mix.  They can be from any show set in this time period (not Agent Carter… though I suppose you could cross AC with Legends of Tomorrow), or even characters who haven’t been announced but fit into one of those shows (theme-wise and budget-wise).  Also note that The Flash is only relevant insofar as it airs immediately before Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.  You don’t need to offer a plot for the fight.  The special effects must remain consistent with a TV budget, though it can be on the higher end; this would be a major cro$$over after all!

Monday, December 28, 2015

Jessica Jones Season 1, Episode 6, "AKA You're A Winner!" REVIEW (SPOILERS)


Image Courtesy www.screenrant.com

Jessica Jones takes a decidedly emotional turn in episode 6, “AKA You’re a Winner!” when one of the major plot questions from previous episodes gets resolved (answering the question of “Why doesn’t Luke Cage appear in all the episodes?” very decidedly!).  In addition to this emotional moment, we also learn more about Kilgrave and his diabolical “plan” with regards to Jessica.  I remember being a little confused—not to mention weirded out—by Kilgrave in this episode, but as the series continues his actions begin to make far more sense.

Saturday, December 26, 2015

Weekly "MCU" Review for 12/26


Happy Boxing Day or St. Stephen’s Day!  Another week, and more MCU Star Wars news!  Not a lot of MCU news to report, but I think the Star Wars news more than makes up for it!  Put some ketchup on your eggs, and catch-up on your Marvel Star Wars news!

Thursday, December 24, 2015

Star Wars: The Force Awakens SPOILER Review



Image Courtesy www.screenrant.com

If you read my non-spoiler review of Star Wars: The Force Awakens, then you already know that I am a huge Star Wars fan—well before I was a Marvel fan.  You also know that I really enjoyed just about everything about this movie.  Simply put, The Force Awakens is a return to the heights of the Original Trilogy in every way that counts (but perhaps a few that don’t).  In this spoiler review, there really isn’t that much more to say about the movie except to lay out all of those major plot points that I couldn’t talk about in the non-spoiler review!

But I’m sure I’ll find something else to say…

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

AoS-Less Tuesday Discussion: Pitch A New Hero



Image Courtesy www.screenrant.com

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. entered its winter hiatus following the winter finale, “Maveth” (3x10).  There are going to be five total weeks without any new Marvel TV—Agent Carter will begin on January 19—so I am going to post a new discussion thread every week with a different concept for us to explore and debate.

First, here is last week's discussion:
If you could be Inhuman, what power would you want?  Mostly MCU Reviews Reddit

Here is this week’s discussion prompt:  Pitch a new superhero, either from Marvel Comics or an original character, for the MCU.

Monday, December 21, 2015

Star Wars: The Force Awakens Non-Spoiler Review


Image Courtesy www.screenrant.com

So a new movie just came out last weekend, and I thought I would write a review of it since it’s a new follow-up to a hugely-popular geek-loved movie franchise.  I’m talking of course about Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Road Chip.

Yeah.  Right.

No, instead I am talking about Star Wars: The Force Awakens.  This will be a non-spoiler review, but I will publish a spoiler review later this week (hopefully; this is a pretty busy week for me since I’m a pastor!).

Before I get started, however, I should point out that I grew up in a Star Wars family:  my siblings and I loved watching the original trilogy, and even enjoyed the prequels (though since I’ve grown up I’ve learned to see all those things I didn’t see when I was younger).  We would make up Star Wars stories, read a lot of the Expanded Universe books, and even collected some Star Wars memorabilia.  To say that I’m a Star Wars fan would be an understatement!

Naturally, I was really hyped for this movie and really hoping that it would be good.  So is it?

Simply put:  Yes.  Star Wars: The Force Awakens deserves all the accolades it is getting.  It deserves all the money it is bringing in—and will continue to bring in for the next several months.  Star Wars: The Force Awakens is an excellent return to form for the Star Wars universe.

Jessica Jones Season 1, Episode 5, "AKA The Sandwich Saved Me" REVIEW (SPOILERS)


Image Courtesy www.screenrant.com

Before Jessica Jones was released, one of my biggest questions was just how much of Jessica’s aborted superhero career we would see in this series.  That question finds its answer in episode 5, when Jessica performs her first couple heroic acts and is first pushed in the direction of becoming a superhero.  In addition to this exploration of Jessica’s superhero career, the episode also gives us our first glimpse into both Jessica’s attempts to capture Kilgrave and the protections Kilgrave has put in place to prevent that from happening.

Saturday, December 19, 2015

Weekly MCU Review for 12/19



Another week, and more MCU news!  Not a lot to talk about on the Marvel front, but there’s some DC news.  Oh, and this little independent film just opened last night.  What’s it called?  That’s right:  Star Wars: The Force Awakens.  Put some ketchup on your eggs, and catch-up on your Marvel news!

Friday, December 18, 2015

AoS Season 3 First Half Discussion

Image Courtesy www.comicbook.com
So instead of a traditional blog post where I do all the talking, I decided to open it up for comments on the first half of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. season 3.  The half-season ended on a pretty wild note, which I will discuss after the jump.  Just be careful of spoilers!

Tuesday, December 15, 2015

AoS-less Tuesday Discussion: If You Could be Inhuman...


Image Courtesy www.twitter.com/AgentsofSHIELD

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. entered its winter hiatus this week following the winter finale, “Maveth” (3x10).  There are going to be five total weeks without any new Marvel TV—Agent Carter will begin on January 19 and run through March 1, with Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. returning on March 8—so I am going to post a new discussion thread every week with a different concept for us to explore and debate.

First up:  If you could be an Inhuman, what power (or powers) would you want to have?

Monday, December 14, 2015

Jessica Jones Season 1, Episode 4, "AKA 99 Friends" REVIEW (SPOILERS)


Image Courtesy www.screenrant.com
Jessica Jones takes a bit of a detour from the main plot in episode 4, “AKA 99 Friends,” to comment on the conditions in New York City for those with “gifts.”  However, that doesn’t mean that the main plot disappears entirely, as Jessica continues her efforts to protect those she loves and track down Kilgrave before he can hurt anyone else.  All in all, the insight this episode provides into the “New York Superhero Community™”—and even more into the general public’s reaction to it!—is very welcome, particularly as the Superhero Civil War nears.

Saturday, December 12, 2015

Weekly MCU Review for 12/12



Another week, and more MCU news!  Trailers, trailers everywhere!  And Agents of S.H.I.EL.D. is going on break.  Put some ketchup on your eggs, and catch-up (*ducks*) on your Marvel news!

Mostly MCU Reviews

My articles from the week

Only three articles this week:

Jessica Jones season 1, episode 3, “AKA It’s Called Whiskey” review.

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. season 3, episode 10, “Maveth” expectations and review.

MCU News

Links to news articles and blog posts about the MCU

The Spider-Man costume for Captain America: Civil War will reportedly require a lot of special effects.

Sony executives this week screened Captain America: Civil War to offer notes and approval of the depiction of Spider-Man.  I just hope their notes don’t make the movie worse (*cough*The Amazing Spider-Man 2*cough*).

Variety is reporting that Marvel is after Cate Blanchett for a role in Thor: Ragnarok.  Galadriel, maybe?

The writing team for Ant-Man and the Wasp has been officially finalized:  Paul Rudd, Adam McKay, Andrew Barrer, and Gabriel Ferrari.

Evidently, though Ant-Man and the Wasp will borrow from the tone of Ant-Man, it will “have an entirely different template.”

According to Anthony Russo, working the Defenders into Avengers: Infinity War would be “complicated.”  In other news, water is wet!  Of course this kind of thing would be complicated; Marvel has been making a living on “complicated” ever since RDJ showed up in the mid-credits scene of someone else’s movie to promote a combined sequel!  He notes that there needs to be a compelling reason, and I think plot-wise they could easily make this kind of thing work:  Thanos wants to destroy the world, and last I heard that includes Hell’s Kitchen!  Having said all that, however, I don’t think it’s absolutely necessary to have the Defenders and S.H.I.E.L.D. show up in Avengers: Infinity War, but it is definitely necessary for them to be involved in the Infinity War (which is going to span a full year, with 2 direct movies, 2 movies between, and a full season’s worth of TV).

Jessica Jones has only been out a couple weeks, and we’re already getting news about the next series on the release slate:  Daredevil season 2.  They showed some footage at a Comic-Con in Brazil, and from the description it sounds pretty awesome:  Daredevil vs. The Punisher!

Well, huh.  Frank Miller is apparently not a Daredevil fan.  Too bad, considering that the Netflix series actually did his character justice—and will probably do the same with his other character, Elektra, in season 2!

And just like that, we now know more about Iron Fist than we’ve known about it since Marvel announced the series:  Scott Buck is going to be the showrunner and we now have our first official synopsis:

Returning to New York City after being missing for years, Daniel Rand fights against the criminal element corrupting New York City with his incredible kung-fu mastery and ability to summon the awesome power of the fiery Iron Fist.

The synopsis sounds great:  they’re not straying away from the mystical elements as some of the rumors suggested, and they are definitely going to make him unique by comparison with Daredevil.  What do you think?

News from Around Geekdom

Anything not related to the MCU that I find interesting

What do you think of this first X-Men: Apocalypse trailer?

Tying in with the trailer release, Marvel announced its new “X-Men: Apocalypse Wars” comic book.  This is the first time in quite a while that Marvel has actually tried to promote a Fox movie property in their comics!

I’m kind of confused by this article.  You see, I could’ve sworn that they announced the Flash for Batman vs. Superman a while back.  Maybe that was a semi-confirmed rumor and this is confirmation.

Do you want to see Will Smith’s Deadshot in the Batman solo film?

So, do you agree with Stephen Amell that Green Arrow could beat Batman?  I’m not going to dismiss the possibility out of hand like many, but I think it only happens under very specific circumstances.  Namely, it can only happen if Arrow is sniping him from a distance and Batman doesn’t know he’s being targeted (or that Arrow is even there).

Another in a long line of DC Comics characters to appear in the DCTVU:  [SPOILER].

Huh.  So The Flash, Arrow, and Legends of Tomorrow are starting/returning January 19, 20, and 21, respectively.  For some reason I thought Legends of Tomorrow was supposed to be a midseason-break-series, and that Arrow and The Flash would return after it finished.
 
Do you want a USB car charger shaped like the Death Star with Grand Moff Tarkin’s voice?

So apparently December 18 is going to see a tear form in the space-time continuum:  the trailer for Star Trek Beyond is going to run before Star Wars: The Force Awakens.  I feel like those two can’t actually share a screen together…  Also included with Episode 7 are Captain America: Civil War, Batman v. Superman, and Deadpool.

What do you think of the TMNT 2 trailer?

If you want to get an email whenever I publish a new article, go to the top of the page and enter your email address in the box labeled “Subscribe to Mostly MCU Reviews” and click “Submit.”

Wednesday, December 9, 2015

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 3, Episode 10, "Maveth" REVIEW (SPOILERS!)


Image Courtesy www.comicbook.com

Last night was the midseason finale of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., and it really didn’t disappoint.  There wasn’t nearly as much superpowered action as I was hoping to see, and the 2 biggest twists of the episode could be guessed pretty early on, but it more than made up for it with the other twists!  This was a majorly-twisty episode, and I think it is pretty safe to say that S.H.I.E.L.D. and Hydra are not going to be the same again after what happened in this episode.

Tuesday, December 8, 2015

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 3, Episode 10, "Maveth" EXPECTATIONS


Image Courtesy www.comicbook.com

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. returns tonight with “Maveth” (3x10) at 9:00 PM Eastern/Pacific.  What do we expect from tonight's episode?

Monday, December 7, 2015

Jessica Jones Season 1, Episode 3, "AKA It's Called Whiskey" REVIEW (SPOILERS!)


Image Courtesy www.screenrant.com

One of the great benefits of the Netflix model is the fact that episodes flow into each other almost seamlessly.  At the end of the previous episode, “AKA Crush Syndrome” (1x02), Jessica and Luke were in the process of discovering each other’s powers; “AKA It’s Called Whiskey” (1x03) begins with the continuation of that discovery.  This paves the way for our first real in-depth exploration of the relationship between Jessica and Luke, but this episode is far more than a vehicle for relationship drama; more of the significant characters are introduced, and one of Jessica’s major motivations for the series comes into sharp focus.

Saturday, December 5, 2015

Weekly MCU Review for 12/5



Another week, and more MCU news!  Now that the Captain America: Civil War trailer is out, we're getting a ton of new information about that movie.  Put some ketchup on your eggs, and catch-up on your Marvel news!

Friday, December 4, 2015

Loose Ends and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.


Image Courtesy www.comicbook.com

Let’s talk about loose ends.  Every Marvel offering has had them; after all, you can’t build a Cinematic Universe without leaving some loose ends for the sequels to pull on!  Every comic book-based movie or TV series has left a few because there’s always the possibility of a sequel—though some of these loose ends are more obvious and hopeless than others (*cough*Sinestro*cough*).  Every TV series leaves at least a few loose ends, unless it is given the opportunity for a final season—and even then there may be a few plot threads left open-ended to allow for fan speculation.

However, when it comes to loose ends—or cliffhanger endings—no one seems to do them quite as well as Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.  After all, this is the series which concluded its second season with a main cast member getting sucked into a giant stone Monolith and still announced her as a returning main cast member!  Last year’s midseason finale ended with the death of a major character and the shocking revelation that a main cast member was no less than an important comic book character as well as the audience’s “in” to a world of superhumans which we did not expect to see explored before 2018 at the earliest (and more likely 2019, when their movie is scheduled to come out).  Whoa!

And next week is the midseason finale for season three.  After the episode airs we can spend months discussing all the loose ends left for the second half of the season to explore.  This week, however, I want to run through all of the loose ends left at the end of “Closure” (3x09), which really didn’t give closure to anything.

Obviously, there will be SPOILERS!

Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 3, Episode 9, "Closure" REVIEW (SPOILERS!)


Image Courtesy www.comicbook.com

You know, I’m kind of tempted not to publish a review of “Closure” (3x09), because I only review an episode after I’ve seen the whole thing, and clearly this episode still isn’t over!  I think we can safely say that this episode is one of—if not the—biggest cliffhanger of the entire series.  In fact, I kind of think that “Closure” and “Maveth” (3x10) could just as easily be the 2 halves of a TV movie as 2 separate TV episodes.  But this is just a review of the first half, which contains some wild twists en route to that cliffhanger ending.

Tuesday, December 1, 2015

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 3, Episode 9, "Closure" EXPECTATIONS



Image Courtesy www.comicbook.com

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. returns tonight with “Closure” (3x09) at 9:00 PM Eastern/Pacific.  What do we expect from tonight's episode?

Monday, November 30, 2015

Jessica Jones Season 1, Episode 2, "AKA Crush Syndrome" REVIEW (SPOILERS!)



As the second half of the plot from episode 1, “AKA Ladies Night,” the second episode of Jessica Jones picks up right where that one left off and continues the theme of introducing the villain.  Additionally, we learn more about Trish and her relationship with Jessica.  Luke gets quite a bit more screen time in this episode, which only serves to expand on the complexity of his and Jessica’s relationship—and you think you’ve got issues! And by the end of the episode, Kilgrave is in a good position to begin creating more mischief.  All in all, these two episodes fit together quite well and help to set up the rest of the series.

Saturday, November 28, 2015

Weekly MCU Review for 11/28



Another week, and more MCU news!  Jessica Jones has been out for a week—has everyone watched it?  The Civil War trailer was released Tuesday!  Fant4stic 2 is dead in the water… is that even surprising?  And a ton of DC rumors!  Put some ketchup on your eggs, and catch-up on your Marvel news!

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Jessica Jones: Non-Spoiler Review of Episodes 7-13


Image Courtesy www.screenrant.com

Last night I finally finished Jessica Jones, and what a wild ride it was!  There are a lot of incredible character moments all through the series, and the second half is no exception.  Several of the characters go through surprising arcs, and a lot of the major characters have their back stories filled in further.

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Miles Morales in the MCU


Image Courtesy en.wikipedia.org

As I mentioned in last week’s “Weekly MCU Review,” a group of small-time filmmakers produced a YouTube video based on Miles Morales becoming the new Spider-Man after Peter Parker’s death.  The video isn’t nearly as polished as your standard movie—not to say that I could do anything even half as good!—but it does bring up an intriguing possibility.  Specifically, what would an MCU Miles Morales look like?  Since we don’t have a new Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. to look forward to tonight, let’s replace that with this.

Monday, November 23, 2015

Jessica Jones Season 1, Episode 1, "AKA Ladies Night" REVIEW (SPOILERS!)


Image Courtesy www.screenrant.com

“AKA Ladies Night,” the series premiere of Jessica Jones, sets a very strong tone for the rest of the season.  In this episode we see Jessica taking a couple different types of cases.  We meet all of the main characters for the season in one form or another.  The key relationships in the series are introduced.  We get a sense of Kilgrave’s power, though not quite the extent of his power.  And we really get to know just about everything we need to know about where Jessica is starting this series.  All in all, I would consider this to be a strong opening statement from a highly-anticipated series.

Sunday, November 22, 2015

Jessica Jones: Non-Spoiler Review of Episodes 1-6


Image Courtesy www.screenrant.com

Just this past Friday, Marvel Studios expanded the Netflix corner of its Marvel Cinematic Universe with the addition of Jessica Jones, a series focusing on superhero-turned-private-investigator Jessica Jones.  Jessica has super strength and the ability to jump really high (and then fall), as well as a degree of super-speed and maybe a minor healing factor, abilities which she puts to good use as a private investigator attempting to make a living in Hell’s Kitchen.  This series comes on the heels of the very-well-received Daredevil, and the two characters couldn’t be more different.  Matt Murdock hides his abilities and only displays them at night, hiding his identity behind a mask; Jessica Jones doesn’t have a secret identity to protect and instead displays her abilities in the open and uses them in the course of her work.  Matt Murdock is driven by a desire to save the city by becoming a symbol to push people into behaving better; Jessica Jones is driven by a desire to earn a living.

Saturday, November 21, 2015

Weekly MCU Review for 11/21



Another week, and more MCU news!  Jessica Jones debuted yesterday, and we got a ton of DC news, too.  Put some ketchup on your eggs, and catch-up on your Marvel news!

Thursday, November 19, 2015

Jessica Jones Season 1 EXPECTATIONS



Image Courtesy www.screenrant.com
Jessica Jones, the second installment of the Marvel/Netflix partnership, will be released officially on the streaming service tomorrow!  Here is the link to the Netflix page; just be sure that you're a Netflix subscriber!  What do we expect from this series?

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 3, Episode 8, "Many Heads, One Tale" REVIEW (SPOILERS)



So for the first 2/3 or so of this episode, I was really enjoying myself.  There was a lot of intrigue, particularly with S.H.I.E.L.D.’s relationship with their frenemies at the A.T.C.U.  Several of the characters got some nice moments.  Fitz-Simmons received some much-needed plot development.  Overall, it was a really interesting and intriguing episode.  And then the ending happened.  And my mind kind of did this:


Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 3, Episode 8, "Many Heads, One Tale" EXPECTATIONS


Image Courtesy www.comicbook.com

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. returns tonight with “Many Heads, One Tale” (3x08) at 9:00 PM Eastern/Pacific.  What do we expect from tonight's episode?

Saturday, November 14, 2015

Weekly MCU Review for 11/14



Another week, and more MCU news!  This week we got some news on Doctor Strange, Thor: Ragnarok, and even Ant-Man and the Wasp.  Oh, and Jessica Jones is only 7 days away!  Put some ketchup on your eggs, and catch-up (*ducks*) on your Marvel news!

Friday, November 13, 2015

The Secret Warriors 2.0


The Secret Warriors 1.0Image Courtesy www.comicbook.com
This week’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. episode, “Chaos Theory,” introduced what I’m going to call the “Secret Warriors 2.0”—a potential team roster for the Secret Warriors which we could see in action soon, perhaps even in the midseason finale. This roster consists of Daisy, Mack, Lincoln, and Joey (though he was still working on controlling his gift in the episode and we have yet to see him use his gift to fight). However, I don’t think these four will be the entire Secret Warriors 2.0 team. On the contrary, I think there are two more characters who can also join the Secret Warriors right now, though both of them are dealing with traumas which may make joining the Secret Warriors difficult: Alisha, who is in S.H.I.E.L.D. custody recovering from her clone’s death at Lash’s hands, and Deathlok, who was sent to a specialized facility for repair after Hydra dismantled his leg in season 2.

I think that these six characters could very easily form the second iteration of the Secret Warriors on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. If you remember the season premiere, they debuted a small, temporary team consisting of Daisy, Mack, and Hunter, but that only lasted a single episode (less, really) before Hunter went off to hunt down Ward. Though Hunter went with Daisy and Mack to follow Banks in “Among Us Hide…” (3x06), he’s still sort-of benched and did not participate with Daisy, Mack, and Lincoln when they confronted Andrew/Lash. Also, he and Bobbi will be leaving the show sooner or later for Marvel’s Most Wanted, so even if he did remain on the team it could only be temporary.

In any event, my goal with this article is to go through the “Secret Warriors 2.0” and see how this roster fulfills the “Team Compositions” checklist I created last spring. This article is shorter than my standard length, but I will still go into rationale for some of the positions.

Thursday, November 12, 2015

Iron Fist: Asian Heroes and the MCU


Image Courtesy en.wikipedia.org

The question was asked recently if Danny Rand, a.k.a. Iron Fist, should be played by an Asian-American actor because the character’s whiteness is not important but his Americanness is. I admit that my initial reaction was to assume reverse racism: the martial artist has to be Asian. However, as I thought further it occurred to me that this desire actually comes from a group looking for representation. And I can actually relate to that desire; one of the reasons I like Hawkeye so much is because he’s left-handed! While I still worry that the executives who make these decisions might do it more out of an assumption that any Asian hero has to be a martial artist and any martial arts-based hero must be Asian, I can definitely see the desire by Asian and Asian-American Marvel fans for representation. This writer has written a couple articles arguing in favor of just this point. Rather than rehash his arguments (which are quite valid), I want to look at this issue from a different angle: are Asians underrepresented in Marvel Comics, and (related) are there any other options for Asian heroes? After all, I can’t just say “focus on existing Asian heroes” without offering an alternative!

I’m going to come right out and say there really aren’t too many, at least not heroes whose rights Marvel owns. Most of the heroes I found were mutants, with a number of Iron Fist supporting characters thrown in for good measure. There are a few viable options, however, one of whom is strongly rumored to be appearing in an upcoming movie.

Wednesday, November 11, 2015

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 3, Episode 7, "Chaos Theory" REVIEW (SPOILERS!)


Image Courtesy www.comicbook.com

I think this episode of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., “Chaos Theory,” might have been the most emotional one to-date.  It saw the payoff of a major plot thread from the first third of the season—which incidentally offered one of the biggest character moments we’ve gotten yet from one of the original cast members.  On the Inhumans and Secret Warriors fronts, this episode also offered some interesting development with a couple of potential new Secret Warriors being set up to join the team in the near future.  Additionally, two more of the major plots of the half-season received very quick and interesting developments near the tail end of the episode.

There was a lot that happened in this episode, so hold on tight!

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 3, Episode 7, "Chaos Theory" EXPECTATIONS


Image Courtesy www.comicbook.com

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. returns tonight with “Chaos Theory” (3x07) at 9:00 PM Eastern/Pacific.  What do we expect from tonight's episode?

Saturday, November 7, 2015

Rumor Has It: Iron Fist and Netflix


Image Courtesy www.netflix.com

This Rumor Has It article is a continuation of “The Adventures of the Iron Fist Development.”  Before getting down to the rumor itself, however, let’s take a look at how we got to this point.

It all started in 2013 when Marvel announced a deal with Netflix which would see the two companies partnering to produce four individual character-based TV series of 13 episodes each, leading up to a team-up miniseries called The Defenders which would star those four heroes.  The announced heroes for the four series were Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Luke Cage, and Iron Fist.  Daredevil entered production in 2014 and was released on Netflix this past April.  It was such a success that it was immediately renewed for a second season, with Jessica Jones set to be released later this month (November 20) and Daredevil season 2 and Luke Cage set to be released sometime in 2016 (potentially the first half of the year).

This all sounds great… until you realize that something—or someone—is missing.  Where’s the news on Iron Fist?  No actor has been cast to play him and so far every potential showrunner has been rejected.  In fact, over the last few weeks/months reports have been coming out suggesting that Marvel doesn’t exactly know what to do with Iron Fist because they are afraid that he’s too fantastical to fit into the dark and gritty universe they have established with Daredevil and are continuing with Jessica Jones.  A couple weeks back, there was even a rumor that Marvel Netflix was planning to straight-up swap out Iron Fist for Punisher since they already have an actor for Frank Castle in Jon Bernthal and already have some ideas of where a Punisher series would go.  Potentially, this would also include the Punisher taking Iron Fist’s place in The Defenders.

So with that background established, let’s get down to the rumor.

Weekly MCU Review for 11/7



Another week, and more MCU news!  Doctor Strange rumors and photos are starting to leak, there was a major reveal on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (which aired its 50th episode), and a whole slew of other stuff happened.  Put some ketchup on your eggs, and catch-up (*ducks*) on your Marvel news!

Friday, November 6, 2015

Lash's Identity: Revealed!


Image Courtesy www.comicbook.com

Warning, there are major spoilers ahead for Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. season 3, episode 6, “Among Us Hide…”!  You’ve been warned…

So after this week’s episode of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., I think there’s just one question on everyone’s mind.  And that question is:

Wednesday, November 4, 2015

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 3, Episode 6, "Among Us Hide..." REVIEW (SPOILERS)


Image Courtesy www.comicbook.com

So right off the bat, I’d like to congratulate Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. for making it to 50 episodes!  Considering how many people (not me) were writing you off after about 5 episodes, I am very glad that you managed to prove me right for believing in you from the get-go.  And what’s even more amazing is just how well you have been sowing seeds all through the series which have paid off down the line.  For example, I really think that some things from “Melinda” (2x17) are going to pay off big time next week, after this week’s major reveal.  But now, on to the review.

I think this episode can be summed up in one word:  Whoa!  Or maybe another one:  Whaaaa…?  There were some amazing moments in this episode, and a few that were downright shocking.  And I loved pretty much every moment of it.

Tuesday, November 3, 2015

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 3, Episode 6, "Among Us Hide..." EXPECTATIONS


Image Courtesy www.comicbook.com

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. returns tonight with “Among Us Hide…” (3x06) at 9:00 PM Eastern/Pacific.  This is the 50th episode of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.! What do we expect from tonight's episode?

Monday, November 2, 2015

Star Wars Rebels: Kanan's Story


Image Courtesy starwars.wikia.com

When Disney acquired Lucasfilm and announced that it would be producing a new series of Star Wars sequels and spinoffs, I had some really mixed emotions. On the one hand, I was really excited about seeing more of my favorite sci-fi universe. On the other hand, I was also a little nervous about what they were planning to do with it; after all, the prequels weren’t nearly the same quality as the original trilogy. And on top of that, Disney decided to get rid of the entire extended universe!

Now, I wasn’t quite as upset about that as some Star Wars fans I know, who had dedicated years to collecting and reading all of the EU books. In my opinion, it made sense for Disney to scrap the entire EU so that they could have a clean slate to create their own Star Wars universe instead of having to fit their new movies into a universe which has already been created and spans millennia of Star Wars history. Looking at this in comic book terms, it’s little different from Marvel Studios making changes to the characters and events of the comics when adapting them to the movies.

With that being said, however, I was still disappointed because it meant that so many characters I really like are unlikely to appear in the Star Wars universe any more.

In order for me to really get behind the new Star Wars universe, Disney needed to provide me with new characters in whose stories I can become invested. And even now, a month before Star Wars: The Force Awakens opens in theaters, I can definitely say that they have done so already. In fact, it started last year already, with the first season of Star Wars Rebels. For a series directed primarily at children, Star Wars Rebels is a surprisingly mature series.

Saturday, October 31, 2015

Weekly MCU Review for Halloween!


Another week, and more MCU news!  There wasn't exactly a ton of new stuff this year, but we did get our first casting announcement for Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2.  Put some ketchup on your eggs, and catch-up (*ducks*) on your Marvel news!

Friday, October 30, 2015

SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER


Image Courtesy www.aboutcar.com

I’m just going to go ahead and say SPOILERS right off the bat because the entire premise of this article is one big SPOILER for Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. season 3, episode 5, “4,722 Hours.”  Of course, considering that this particular spoiler has been breaking the Internet for the last several days…

With that being said, let’s get into it.